Skip to content

Primal Hunt…Primal Rewards!

September 6, 2011

As I’ve previously mentioned having found the Primal Blueprint, Paleo Solutions, etc… excited me beyond belief as I felt as though I had found a lifestyle that really jived with who I am and what I love (for the most part, I really love ice cream!).  One of those things that connected the primal lifestyle to myself was that I am an avid outdoors man I was excited for the primal eating plan.  Because of my endevors in the outdoors my family eats a lot of wild game!  Perfect!  This time of year is big game hunting season in the Midwest (my favorite time of year) so I decided to embark on an ancestral hunt for a workout.

I have a membership to the local YMCA.  I wish I had a membership to a crossfit gym as well, but I can’t afford the luxury of both right now and having a 6 month old meant the YMCA won out so I could actually get some workouts in while she was watched over!  Here’s my workout and my harvest of that workout 🙂

Goal: Hunt down prey and return food back to camp in less than 1 hour

2 miles on the treadmill with a rolling hills workout – level 10 out of 20 and speed 7.8 out of 15 (7:45 miles)

2 mile jog/fast walk back on the treadmill carrying a 35lbs. kettle bell in a backpack changing bag positions every .25 miles.  Level 8/20 and avg. speed of 5.0 (about 15min/mi pace).

Goal accomplished!

 

Reward: Paleo Tuna Melt

1 can tuna

1 egg

teaspoon olive oil

1 teaspoon hot sauce

1 teaspoon mustard powder

1 scallion chopped

1 clove garlic minced

pinch of sea salt

1 chopped carrot

fresh lemon juice

small sprinkle of cheese ( I will eat a very liberal amount of dairy in form of cheese every so often)

Mix ingredients together and sear in a frying pan over medium heat.  Serve over a bed of lettuce or spinach ( I had no spinach in the house today).

Today has been a good day 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

